Elsa From Disney’s Frozen Costume Walkthrough Part 2- SnowFlakes & Glitter

Elsa’s cape/train has this gorgeous snowflake and icicle design. It is quite detailed and requires a lot of time and patience. Unfortunately, I do not have my own magical snow powers so I had to make my train out of glitter instead of snow. Make sure to read part one of my walkthrough to see all the materials I used and where to get them.

Here is a list of the basic Materials:

~ 1 lb of #359 Misty Transparent Ultrafine From Artglitter.com

~ 3-4 bottles of fabric mod podge from local craft store

~ sponge brushes

~ x-acto knife

~ duct tape

~ self healing cutting board

Image

Image

The first thing I did to create the design was grab a bunch of paper to recreate the patterns. For the large icicle designs, I took the concept art (shown above) and made the designs proportional to my personal height. (If you are shorter or taller than 5’8″ I would recommend testing it first). After I calculated those lengths, I grab a bunch of paper and started drawing the design. I only drew half of the design at first so when I transferred it both sides would be exactly the same.

Image

When I was happy with the design I transfer the patterns to sheets of duct tape. WARNING: I do not recommend using duct tape. It is a very aggressive tape and can easily tear and/or leave residue on your fabric. The only reason I used it was because I had a bunch left over from a previous project. I made the sheets of duct tape by taking my self-healing cutting board and laying down rows of duct tape. Then drew a line down the middle, lined up the icicle design, traced the first side, reversed the stencil, and did the same thing on the other side of the line. I cut out the designs with an x-acto knife. I did this a total of about 4 times for all my different stencils (not including all the mess ups lol). You can reuse the duct tape stencils about 2-3 times before it loses all of its adhesives. Note: Duct tape DOES NOT un-stick from itself, wax paper, anything paper, and a lot of plastics.

ImageImage

 

I followed the same basic process to create the snowflake stencils as well. I made a few snowflakes that match Elsa’s cape from the movie and concept art. I folded a piece of paper in half and made the snowflake designs with a ruler. After that I used them as a stencil and transfer them on to the duct tape sheets. For the other snowflakes, I had some paper snowflakes my roommate and I decorated our room with. I bought them at my local craft store called Patcan’s back in November.

Image

After all of the stencils were cut out, it was time to glitter the train to death. I took a sponge brush and applied fabric mod podge onto a small sections at a time ( be forewarned the mod podge dries quickly). Then I took a spoon full of glitter and lightly tapped it onto the area with glue and patted it lightly. Do not worry about putting too much glitter on the design the extra will fall off later. After you let the mod podge set for about 4 – 6 hours you need to seal the glitter. ( Please seal your glitter or you will be a glitter monster and the design will fall off). The best way to seal your glitter is to put another coat of fabric mod podge on top of it. It dries clear and wont ruin the design. The other method is to heat seal the glitter. I personally did not do this so I would suggest looking up how to do that on google. If you get the mod podge in an unwanted area the best way to remove the glitter and glue is to take a q-tip or cotton ball with some nail polish remover and GENTLY scrub off the unwanted. If you are afraid the nail polish remover will damage your fabric be sure to practice on some scrap fabric.

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

So a lot of time later I had this huge train of glitter and snowflakes. It was quite a bit of work but well worth the results. The pictures do not show how sparkly it is person unfortunately. :/

I used the same process for Elsa’s top. I wont go into great detail how I made it but here are the progess photos of the glitter designs on her sleeves.

Image

Image

Image

 

Sorry for the awkward pose in the last photo I was trying to adjust my body so pattern was clearly visible.

Anyways, I hope this helpful to all who requested the walk through! I will be making part 3 – the shoes later this week, probably after my calculus test. Part 4 will be the wig but it is back home so I will have to wait until spring break to take pictures of it. Thanks for reading and have a lovely day! 😀

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 37 Comments

Post navigation

37 thoughts on “Elsa From Disney’s Frozen Costume Walkthrough Part 2- SnowFlakes & Glitter

  1. Teresa

    I’m soooo happy you wrote this all out and put your designs for the sleeves!!! Thank you!!
    I’m working on my daughters right now and using a lot if your ideas. Just thought if throw this out at others who might be. I went to the dollar store got vynal shower curtains used 505 temporary fabric adhesive to make it stick and drew the design on that used sissors to cut it out. Working grat so far and hope to start glittering tomorrow, got the top all cut out tonight! Thanks for you help and wonderful ideas!!!

  2. I love it too. im doing a dress I bought at sear, high low sequin aqua color it has a train but no snowflakes, this helps a lot. Thank you.

  3. Really beautiful job!!! May i ask what the consistency of the fabric was where you had the glittered motifs as opposed to the un-glittered fabric? Were you still shedding glitter or did it stay in place very well?

    • I sealed my glitter with a coat of mod podge so it stayed on but it still had a fair amount of glitter come off. There was not huge sections missing but just random lose glitter pieces that fell off. If you do not seal it the glitter will come off easily. After the glitter is put on the fabric it became stiff in areas where there is a lot of glitter.

      • Thank you so much for answering!!!!!!!! Im so excited (and terrified……) to try it out!!! 🙂

  4. Huge Elsa Fan

    This. Is. AWESOME!!!! I love the cape it looks so COOL! I might do a simple version for Halloween this year soTHANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!

  5. Melody

    This is absolutely stellar. Thank you so much for posting this. Just wondering, would tulle be alright for my cape? Will the mod podge stay?

    • I would say no because tulle has fairly large holes in it. I have not tried it though so it could possibly work. So I would get a small sample of the tulle and try it out!

    • Hi! I’ve actually been experimenting with tulle and if you use a larger glitter (like normal size-ish rather than the glitter powder) it seems to work super well! 🙂

  6. Amy

    Did you use a pattern for the rest of the dress? What material is the train and sleeves?

    • The only pattern I used was the main dress part. The sleeves and train I drafted myself. The train is made of organza and the sleeves are made of a material called glissnette which is a type of mesh used for ice skating and dance costumes. You can find it at spandexworld.com.

  7. This is absolutely amazing, Reba! I am so happy that I found your blog. My daughter is 3 years old and is madly in love with Elsa’s dress. I have decided to make one even though my sewing skills are super basic. Reba, I have a quick question for you. How did you attach those sequins to the bodice? Your picture looks so good, but I don’t see any thread going through holes. I have tried to sew my sequins but they were sticking out all over the place and it didn’t look good at all.

    Thanks so much 🙂

  8. Thank you so much for your sharing. I am in the process of making an Elsa dress for my daughter and wasn’t sure what to use for the top fabric. What color fabric did you use for the sleeves? matte turquoise, turquoise, or light blue?

  9. Stunning! thanks so much for sharing!

  10. Can I possibly commission one from you, or is it really just a tutorial? I’d be very happy if you would!

    • It is meant to be more of tutorial for anyone interested in how I made my costume. I am trying to focus on my craftsmanship and going to school before I start doing commissions. I am sorry but best of look in finding a costume!

  11. Marion

    Thanks for your ideas how you design your dress. I use your tutorial and scale it down for a three year old. One question do you have a template of the design on the back and sleeves. Enjoyed your tutorial. You well along your way in prefixing your craftsmanship.

    • Thank you! I do not have a picture of it on hand unfortunately. But the to help you out all I did was make two lines of glitter on the top with a line of squares right below the two lines. The first line should be along the neckline. The squares get smaller as they approach the front. Hope this helps and good luck on your costume!

  12. Anais

    Hi Reba! Thank you so much for sharing this! This tutorial is amazing! Im in love with your dress!! Can you please tell me where did you purchase the sequins?

  13. Thank you for the help! Also, how large is your cutting board?

  14. Tiffany Monahan

    Absolutely AMAZING!!!

  15. Shana

    This is gorgeous and helped me in making my niece a costume. I have a question though. The back side of my organza is sticky from the dried glue (which happened from me painting it with a paid bag under it). What would you recommend to fix it?

    • I did not experience this problem so I am not sure how to go about “de-sticking” it without also damaging the glitter. The only thing I can think of is putting another layer of fabric over the existing cape to cover up the sticky side. I hope you find a solution!

  16. Ray

    Darn I wish I had found this before I started on my grand-daughter’s dress! I am a sticky, glittery mess and although the (almost) finished article is okay, yours is absolutely gorgeous and I bitterly regret not seeing it earlier!
    Just want to add my awed praise, the whole dress is lovely, the train incredibly beautiful.

  17. YOU HAVE SAVED MY ELSA COSPLAY’S CAPE. THANK YOU.

  18. I love it!
    How much modge podge did you use? Jsut so I know how much I should order if I use this method. 🙂 And how did you do with the glitter? Did you just keep doting it onto the glue until it was as thick as yours are?

    • I used about 2-3 bottles of mod podge. I sprinkled the glitter on top of the mod podge while it was drying. After that I dumped the extra glitter off.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

